LambdaMooooooo!

What LambdaMoo is all about

Before this assignment, I have never heard of LambdaMoo. I find the name itself quite strange to say and write. I had even asked my friends and family if they had ever heard of LambdaMoo and everyone just gave me a strange look and said “No.” Nonetheless, while reading “LambdaMoo: An Introduction” I have discovered that it is a virtual world chat room. You can navigate to all type of different rooms and interact with other people. If you are quite serious about this website, you can create your own personal character that defines who you are or what you wish to be. However, when you are talking to people who are living all over the world it is important to be aware because false facts and negative truths are always present on the internet.

An image example of Lambdamoo: "Outside"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

An image example of being able to be “outside” on LambdaMoo.

When I signed up I had just made a guest character to explore LambdaMoo. It was interesting but it did not excite me in any way. I have never liked chat rooms or talking to strangers over the internet and therefore find it quite spooky.  I like to have everything private over the internet, including my facebook. I also think that it is quite sad how people are trying to develop relationships over the internet when you can accomplish this in the real world.

However, as Douglas Rushkoff states in his book Program of Be Programmed, more people are learning to socialize and make friends through interfaces and networks rather than in person (146).  Despite this, interacting over the internet is becoming more popular because we depend on the internet to “make sense of our world, get the most done, and to have the most fun” (112). Many claim that talking through the internet is easier to do but I believe that this hinders our communication skills. Being able to talk face-to-face should still be an important quality.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment