~ Tweet Tweet ~

Twitter: In Plain English – a short video introducing Twitter and why it has become so popular. I recommend watching it.

When Twitter was first created and started becoming popular with celebrities, such as Oprah and Ashton Kutcher, it had not appealed to me. Why would I want to know that Oprah Winfrey is about to go out for a walk or that Ashton Kutcher is going to eat toast? Plus, I have a facebook and reading a person’s status on a daily basis is enough for me.

However, as part of my homework for my communications class, I have finally created a Twitter account. It is very easy to use which makes me happy. I do not like complicated websites that take forever to set up, but Twitter was very quick and simple. Julian Dibbell in her article “Future of Social Media: Is a Tweet the New Size of a Thought?” wrote that “for many, Twitter’s steady stream of one-line updates – “microblogging” – is a low-maintenance way to feel connected to family, friends, [and] celebrities.”

Since I normally rely on facebook for my information, photos, and conversation, I did notice something different about Twitter that I liked. Not everybody has a facebook account, especially athletes and celebrities, but majority of them have a Twitter account. As a hockey fan, I can now follow my favorite hockey players and organizations, such as the Pittsburgh Penguins and Chicago Blackhawks, more easily.

I also like how tweets have a limit: 140 characters or less. By “forcing users to commit their thinking to the bite-size form of the public tweet” people are more willing to read something that is shorter. In the past, books “[have] been the ideal, default form of the written word.” However, as technology is rapidly expanding and becoming a major part of our lives, it has become difficult for some people to focus on reading a long book. With Twitter, readers are more likely to read a short tweet that is also compelling or funny.

However, broadcasting your personal status on a regular basis may not be for everyone. I like Twitter because I have some friends who have an account. I can also remain up to date on organizations. For example, I am currently following Amy Creyer’s Twitter on Chicago’s Street Style. She had recently made a visit to my class and talked about her blog. I visit her blog on a weekly basis and thought it would be cool to also follow her on Twitter.

My twitter account is @AnnaBuchanan19…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment